The Palo Alto Philharmonic – Tchaikovsky on TV!

Did you know that Palo Alto has a symphony orchestra? I didn’t, and I’m apparently not alone, even though I enjoy classical music. The PA Philharmonic are local, they are dedicated and they want to share their passion for symphonic music with you.

The Palo Alto Philharmonic, under Music Director Thomas Shoebotham, is a full sized (~65 member) community orchestra which performs 4 orchestral concerts a year at a very reasonable price ($20) at the Cubberley Theater. In addition to full orchestral concerts, they perform several smaller concerts at other venues around town. Their upcoming concert schedule can be seen on their website.

The orchestra has been around since 1988 and is a non-profit organization. The musicians are volunteers, and generally have non-musical careers in the community.

The orchestra concert programs begin with an informative pre-concert talk, discussing the pieces to be heard in the program. Their repertoire ranges across all periods of orchestral music, including 20th century music and even original compositions from their Assistant Conductor and award-winning composer-in-residence, Lee Actor.

Volunteers from The Media Center were at the Philharmonic’s October 2011 concert in force. Six of us operated six cameras and three high-quality microphones scattered around Cubberley Theater. We’ve posted to YouTube the Philharmonic’s performance of Bernstein’s “Overture to Candide” and Liszt’s “Totentanz” featuring guest piano soloist Péter Tóth.

The Philharmonic’s performance of Tchaikovsky’s 6th Symphony from that October concert will be shown at the following times, on Channel 27

  • Friday, November 25 9pm
  • Saturday, November 26 10pm
  • Friday, December 2, 9pm
  • Saturday, December 3, 10pm

Latest playback times can be found on our online TV schedule.

The Philharmonic’s next Orchestral concert is on Saturday, December 10 at Cubberley Theater. Check their website for other concerts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *